Raw Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bites

I bet that title got you all sorts of excited, didn’t it?  Because who DOESN’T love chocolate chip cookie dough?

Certainly not me.  Especially when it’s in ice cream, but anyway…

In fact, as embarrassing as this is to admit, back in college when I paid almost zero attention to my health, I used to get those plastic wrapped rolls of chocolate chip cookie dough at the store (the yellow Nestlé one was my fave), and before even baking any, I’d make my way through half of it with a spoon, one bite at a time.

So I have good news, and I also have bad news.

The bad news is that you can’t really replace chocolate chip cookie dough with something that is grain free or sugar free or healthy in any way, shape, or form and have it taste the same.  The reason why it’s so good is because it’s SO SO bad.  So remember that.

The GOOD news though, is that I have something PRETTY close, and it’s wayyyyy better for you.

AND it’s been tried and tested by a circle of friends who, I should admit, don’t take much persuasion to eat anything I’ve cooked, but, THEN they came back for seconds.  🙂

These are a perfect snack, and today they were a guilt-free dessert at the first picnic of the year here in CPH.

RAW CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE DOUGH BITES

I promise you won't feel guilty eating more than one of these.


Ingredients:
(check the resources page for tips on where to find them)

  • 1/2 cup creamy raw peanut butter (I chose the Green Choice brand found at Irma)
  • 1/4 cup raw honey
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup, plus 1 tbsp coconut flour
  • 3 tbsp ground flax seeds
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips (these can also be found at Irma)

Directions:

Mix together the peanut butter, honey and vanilla until creamy and well blended in a bowl.  In a separate bowl, mix together the coconut flour, ground flax seed and salt.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix well to combine.  Use your hands to knead the dough to thoroughly combine.  If it’s too wet, add a little more coconut flour.  If it’s too dry and doesn’t hold together well, knead in one teaspoon of water.

Fold in the dark chocolate chips.  Then, scoop out tablespoon-size portions and roll into one-inch balls with your hands to create a bite-sized treat. 🙂

Refrigerate for 30 minutes before serving.

Makes about 10-12 one inch bites.

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Raw Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bites

  1. Amy says:

    I am a big-time cookie dough lover. 🙂 Thanks for sharing. These sound delish! 🙂

  2. the Jilb says:

    Oh, yum!!! Like Amy said, I also love cookie dough…. So, yes, please!

Leave a Reply

